“Bang, bang, give me fame. Shoot me up to entertain”, sings Billie Joe Armstrong in the chorus of Green Day’s energetic first single off Revolution Radio, out October 7th via Reprise Records.

“Bang, Bang” is a song written from the perspective of a mass shooter, a song that Billie Joe claims freaked him out once he put pen to paper. “It’s about the culture of mass shooting that happens in America mixed with narcissistic social media” explained the Green Day frontman in an interview with Rolling Stone.



Much like 2006’s American Idiot, the new album will deal with Billie Joe’s sociopolitical frustrations and the chaos surrounding the upcoming election. But despite these heavy themes, he says Revolution Radio will be an uplifting record. “[It’s] a movement for lost souls to come together … sing together … and most of all, find each other. That’s what the spirit of Green Day has been about since Day One.”

You can check out the artwork and track listing for Revolution Radio below.


Revolution Radio Track Listing

1. “Somewhere Now”
2. “Bang Bang”
3. “Revolution Radio”
4. “Say Goodbye”
5. “Outlaws”
6. “Bouncing Off the Wall”
7. “Still Breathing”
8. “Youngblood”
9. “Too Dumb To Die”
10. “Troubled Times”
11. “Forever Now”
12. “Ordinary World”



For more punk and alternative music news from Boston and beyond, stay tuned to Like You Said on Facebook and Instagram.


Share this story